4Likes
  • 3 Post By ptgb
  • 1 Post By milkmaster

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-03-2016, 02:23 AM Thread Starter
Contributing Member

Garage
Wiring Up Accessories Exactly How I Want Them

Over the last month or so got my 2012 Glint Wave Metallic wired up for the electronic accessories that I enjoy having on the bike. No farkles here.

I am a 25 year police officer and I enjoy having a police scanner on the motorcycle for something more to listen to while I am traveling (other than just music). Also picked up a Zumo 595LM for the greatly enhanced features as compared to the factory GPS system. I wanted to have all the audio play simultaneously through the AUX as I wanted the choice of hearing it out of the speakers or headset.

Started by mounting 2 Buss 4-circuit fuse panels and a ground block (Summit Racing) in the left saddle bag. Drilled into the front of the saddle bag where the bag is covered by the side cover and bolted the two fuse panels. The ground block was mounted to the rear of the saddle bag (self tapping screws). Drilled two more holes in the front of the saddlebag to run the wires to the battery and relay.

One fuse panel is always hot the other is keyed-hot. Used the following schematic to wire it up (last diagram on the page):

http://www.aumih.info/Tips/fuseblock.html

Ran 6 wires (3 hots and 3 grounds) up to the area under the left storage box. One set for the Zumo, one for a GPS puck that works with the scanner, and one for an AmpliRider multiple input amplifier.

What a mess!!!!

Chose a Uniden Homepatrol police scanner because of its size and ease of use (when riding). It has a touch screen interface and a big display for easy reading.

Even with these dimensions, mounting it where I wanted, on top of the glovebox, the handlebars would not clear at full lock. It was because of the holder. So I decided to to inlay the holder.