lumbar fusion recovery time? - GL1800Riders
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-19-2010, 11:18 PM Thread Starter
Seasoned Member
lumbar fusion recovery time?

I am depressed. I went to see a surgon and he said what I did not want to hear. he said two discs need to be removed and fuse the vertebrae together.

I was a little out of sorts, even though I knew before going in and half the questions I had just never got asked. I know I have read other posts regarding back problems so I thought this would be a beter source of info.

Here is the bike related part:

How long before I will be able to ride again?

I have only talked to one other rider and he said two years for him!

I don't think I am a slow healer although I have nothing to comair this to. I have never even broke a bone.

I am 49 yrs old, a carpenter by trade I am not over weight, I'd say execpt for my back I am in good shape.

If it will be a long recovery time I will be forced to sell my wing, I have had it a year, still three years to pay on it.

who has had the fusion and how long before you could ride again???

Sponsored Links
post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-19-2010, 11:28 PM
Seasoned Member
Send a message via Yahoo to KevTN
It has been a while since I have done Ortho surgery, but here are the things that will effect it are....

It is two levels which isn't too bad. It depends on if it is L-1 and L-2? or is it L-5 S-1 which is more common? the later is a shorter healing time...but you need to do the rehab and listen to your body.

Personally I would wait and see, good chance it could be 6-8 weeks. Ask your MD.

post #3 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-19-2010, 11:42 PM
Seasoned Member