GL1800Riders Forums banner

J&M 787 headset review

2K views 15 replies 10 participants last post by  bob2002 
#1 ·
I got a new helmet for Christmas. Schuberth E1. Since I have the best motorcycle in the industry and now the best helmet (or at least most expensive) I just had to have the best headset.

First a little background. I've been using a J&M headsets for 30+ years. As a passenger on the back of my Dad's bike, I was a customer for the very first model J&M headset. Every 5-6 years I get a new helmet and put a new J&M headset in it. (not that the headsets wear out, just like to keep headset in old helmets to use as a back up)

The 787 is hands down the best headset I've ever used!!! The sound quality is awesome! I feel like I am in a surround sound theater. On my first ride with it, I kept looking around to see where the sound was coming from. In another thread, I asked John (owner) to compare the 629 to the 787 and he said the 629 is a B and the 787 is a A. I would like to disagree with that assessment. The 629 is a C compared to the A+ rating of the 787. I'm afraid to tell my wife how good the headset is for fear of her making me replace hers....

I can't wait to do my next iron butt ride with this helmet and headset.....

#3 ·
I agree Dude, I run the 787 Elite, well worth the $$$$....

#4 ·
I have a Schuberth C3 Pro. I am just starting to look for a headset. Never had one before. My big question is how easy are they to install and could I wreck the interior of a very expensive helmet? What about a microphone?

My apologies if I'm hijacking your thread.

#5 ·
No worries on high jacking
I have always installed my own headsets until this one. The integrated headset requires drilling a hole in the helmet (verses a clamp).
I paid the $60 and had JM install. Totally worth it. I figured I have a 10k bike, $800 helmet and a $250 headset, I'd pay the $60 to have them install. The integrated headset is worth the $60 install cost.

#9 · (Edited)