Thoughts after one year of owning a Goldwing - GL1800Riders
 88Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 49 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 02:03 PM Thread Starter
Seasoned Member

Thoughts after one year of owning a Goldwing

Just about a year ago I bought my first Goldwing, a new 2016 ABS model. Now, 7000 miles and a year later, here are some observations. I'll just start with the fact that I have been riding for about 35 years, I am a former MSF instructor, and I have owned about 8 bikes in those years.

1. The Goldwing is an even better bike than I thought it was when I first got it. In terms of comfort, performance, reliability and versatility it is by far the best motorcycle I have ever owned.
2. While initially it took me awhile to get used to the size and WEIGHT of this bike (about 200 pounds more than the bike I owned just before the Goldwing), I find now that the size and weight are totally non-factors to me. When I first got this bike I loved it, but thought maybe I should have stayed with a lighter bike. Now I see no advantage whatsoever with a smaller or lighter bike.
3. There is no need for a 6th gear. Coming from a few bikes with 6 gears, at first I thought that this was the biggest weakness of the Goldwing. A year of riding now has convinced me that a 6th gear is not needed; the 5th gear handles speeds of everything over 45 mph, up to my highest so far of about 110 on the speedo, with comfort and without strain. I've yet to hit redline and see no need to.