GL1800Riders - View Single Post - XM Radio Info Questions
View Single Post
post #4 of (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:50 AM
Hondaron
Seasoned Member

Garage
I'm no expert either, the wife has XM-Sirrus in the car, I piggyback( I'll explain later) on her subscription with my GW.
a) "Steaming" is a generic term IMO, most often "streaming" refers to receiving music via your data plan on your smart phone, there are "services" (like radio stations) that "stream" music via the internet using the "data" portion of the cell phone (like when you "google" something on your phone, you are using your data plan)... a popular provider of music is "pandora"...it has both "free" ( with commercials) as well as pay for music ( a subscription) without commercials ( and NO your new unit from amazon will not work with pandora). Streaming with XM radio ( satellite provided) just means that you have a connection with the sky and it sends the signal to earth ...you will lose a signal when going under a bridge, in a tunnel, and sometimes when the satellite is "on the horizon" and the angle to your receiver is too "flat" ( 180 degs).
b) Since you are buying a "unit" I assume that the XM receiver is not built in to your bike. you'll have to figure out a way to power it (12VDC) and how to get the audio signal to the speakers/intercom ( AUX port)...the "head" units have many buttons and a display , think of it as a typical car radio with presets and volume controls, read the instructions and explore all the different types of music/dialog you can listen to. (I'm a gear head, and one of my favorites while on a long rides is to find "car talk" which is on the NPR channel via XM ...the two mechanics ( Click and Clack) are a crack up (1 of the original mechanics, Tom passed away in 2014)...I laugh so hard sometimes that I start crying.