ABS issue - GL1800Riders

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
Seasoned Member

ABS issue

On a previous trip I blew out a seal on the final drive. I took it to a dealer that installed a trike take-off and continued on the trip. The mechanic told me there was something wrong with the ABS but I opted not to stay around. The ABS was fine prior to the swap out. When I got home i asked the local dealer about it but he said it would be $300+ just to look at it due to having to take so much stuff off. No thank you.

Any ideas on what it might be. I'm thinking that it has to be something in the area of the swap since nothing else was touched. The sensor ring is in place and looks to be lined up with the sensor. Is there wiring or whatever that may have been pinched, disconnected, or damaged? I'm not a mechanic so can't be much more help than that.

TIA for any information you might come up with.

2008 Metallic Red ABS
2010 Hannigan Sierra Trailer
Livin' on the DARKSIDE!
Proud Dad
Finally back in TEXAS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-18-2017, 12:35 PM
Seasoned Member

I just looked at the rear sensor on my 07 and it is crowded back there. I removed the muffler and was able to get the sensor out to clean/inspect.

Too bad you are not closer. I could check for codes and pull the sensor for you.

Ron
Belton Tx
07 GW ABS
91 BMW K75RT ABS
56 Harley FL ABS on front only
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-18-2017, 01:32 PM
Seasoned Member

Other than them telling you "something" was wrong, can you tell if it is malfunctioning? When you start the bike does the ABS light come on, then as you roll a few feet does the light go off? Have you tested the ABS function, it's fairly easy to lock the rear wheel on a wet surface and not too dangerous.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-18-2017, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
Seasoned Member