volt meters - GL1800Riders
 14Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1,061
volt meters

Any of you F6B owners have a volt meter hooked up?
If so where did you mount it and how?

Doug

I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.
flat6bagger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 03:24 PM
Seasoned Member
 
cihilb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SW PA
Posts: 1,656
I don't have the F6B, but on my 2012 GL1800, I mounted mine on the right the panel where the key lock for the center compartment is.
This one is similar to the one I have.
http://wingstuff.com/products/36629-...?from_search=1
flat6bagger likes this.

2012 Pearl White GL1800
AMA Life Member
cihilb is offline  
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 03:57 PM
Seasoned Member
 
hojo in SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SC
Posts: 1,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by cihilb View Post
I don't have the F6B, but on my 2012 GL1800, I mounted mine on the right the panel where the key lock for the center compartment is.
This one is similar to the one I have.
http://wingstuff.com/products/36629-...?from_search=1
+1 for me
flat6bagger likes this.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Hojo in SC
Iron Butt Association member 24485
hojo in SC is offline  
 
post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 04:31 PM Thread Starter
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1,061
That panel on the right is just a cover on a F6B.
That is where I thought would be a good place to mount one.
Then again, I have a hard time bringing myself to drilling holes or defacing a part in any way.

Doug

I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.
flat6bagger is offline  
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 04:46 PM
Seasoned Member
 
DaWadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 203
Garage
Put mine there also. I tied into the heated grip power and works great.

2013 F6B /ABS Black of course.
DaWadd is offline  
post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 04:57 PM
Seasoned Member
 
GoingGrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: PNW
Posts: 312
This setup looks pretty sano to me...

http://wingstuff.com/products/29399-...?from_search=1

Please say NO to chrome...
GoingGrey is online now  
post #7 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 05:05 PM
Seasoned Member
 
bigbird1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: 50˚N, 97˚W
Posts: 794
Beside the lock for the storage bin, day and night shots:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	voltmeter5.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	256.4 KB
ID:	166041   Click image for larger version

Name:	voltmeter4.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	293.3 KB
ID:	166049  
flat6bagger likes this.

2013 F6B, black, with ABS
If it ain't broke, try to fix it anyways
bigbird1 is offline  
post #8 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 05:06 PM Thread Starter
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoingGrey View Post
This setup looks pretty sano to me...

http://wingstuff.com/products/29399-...?from_search=1
It will not work on a F6B.


Doug

I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.
flat6bagger is offline  
post #9 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 05:10 PM Thread Starter
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbird1 View Post
Beside the lock for the storage bin, day and night shots:
Thanks,that is what I was looking for.


Doug

I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.
flat6bagger is offline  
post #10 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 07:11 PM
Seasoned Member
 
Big Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 1,106
Here's a different approach altogether. My Passport Escort 9500ix radar detector is mounted on my farkle shelf and displays the voltage as an option. Not that seeing the voltage is really necessary for me...
Walrus likes this.

​2015 F6B Deluxe matte silver
IBA member #48367
SS 1,000 9/5/11
BBG 1,500 3/16/13
SS 2,000 3/16/13
CC50 3/16/13
Darkside #975
Michelin Primacy Alpin RF 195/55R/16, 32#
front Bridgestone G709, 36#
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Big Cat is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the GL1800Riders forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome