Wire a 3 wire volt meter?
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Wire a 3 wire volt meter?

  1. #1
    Seasoned Member Bucfan11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    3,544
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Wire a 3 wire volt meter?

    Is this correct?: Red: Power Supply + = a relay

    Black: Power Supply -, Measure - = a ground

    Green: Measure + = battery positive
    Rob

    PROWLER #105



    2008 Pearl White Navi GoldWing
    2008 Kawasaki Nomad- SOLD




  2. Remove Advertisements
    GL1800Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Seasoned Member Dkebrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NE Georgia (Winder)
    Posts
    455
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default wires

    Is the meter analog? Could green be for a light to see at night? Then red and black would go to the battery.
    2005 CBC ABS Gold Wing
    1982 Yamaha XS650SJ
    AMA Charter Life Member


  4. #3
    Seasoned Member Bucfan11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    3,544
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dkebrd View Post
    Is the meter analog? Could green be for a light to see at night? Then red and black would go to the battery.
    It's digital.
    Rob

    PROWLER #105



    2008 Pearl White Navi GoldWing
    2008 Kawasaki Nomad- SOLD




  5. #4
    Seasoned Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    probably at work
    Posts
    4,279
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Never heard of a three wire DC meter. What brand?
    Lynn Dimick

    07 Blue Airbag Darksider #137, IBA #33527, SS1000 BBG1500, AMA

  6. #5
    Seasoned Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    probably at work
    Posts
    4,279
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Found this on one on Ebay:

    How to connect?

    A: The Red wire connect 4.5V-30V power supply's "+",and the Black wire connect 4.5V-30V power supply's "-", the Yellow wire connect need testing item's "+"(DC0V - DC100V)

    So it sounds like you are on the right track.
    Lynn Dimick

    07 Blue Airbag Darksider #137, IBA #33527, SS1000 BBG1500, AMA

  7. #6
    Seasoned Member Bucfan11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    3,544
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rob

    PROWLER #105



    2008 Pearl White Navi GoldWing
    2008 Kawasaki Nomad- SOLD




  8. #7
    Seasoned Member Texas Black Bird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Santa Fe, TX
    Posts
    2,764
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Depending on the input circuitry of the meter, It may not be good to have the measurement lead wired to the battery without the meter powered. There can be some "sneak" current flowing through the meter from the input protection circuitry. Best bet would be isolate the signal wire through a relay that fires from the ACC terminal in the fuse box.

    "The 'Wing is my wife's bike - I'm just the driver."

    "It's a motorcycle, not a lifestyle."

    Some Pics.
    Some Tunes
    Trip'n with Tom
    05 R1200GS Yup!...
    02 GL1800A Hers!
    05 DR650SE When the going gets tough...

    Please Press '1' for English.
    Press '2' to disconnect until you learn to speak English

  9. #8
    Seasoned Member Bucfan11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    3,544
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Texas Black Bird View Post
    Depending on the input circuitry of the meter, It may not be good to have the measurement lead wired to the battery without the meter powered. There can be some "sneak" current flowing through the meter from the input protection circuitry. Best bet would be isolate the signal wire through a relay that fires from the ACC terminal in the fuse box.
    Put both "hot" leads on the relay "switched power"?
    Rob

    PROWLER #105



    2008 Pearl White Navi GoldWing
    2008 Kawasaki Nomad- SOLD




  10. #9
    Seasoned Member Texas Black Bird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Santa Fe, TX
    Posts
    2,764
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bucfan11 View Post
    Put both "hot" leads on the relay "switched power"?
    That will work too. You may not get a true battery volts reading but it would only me off by a few 10s to 100s of mV, depending on what else is on the circuit. If you are not using the ACC terminal in the fuse box to drive another load, this would be a good source.

    "The 'Wing is my wife's bike - I'm just the driver."

    "It's a motorcycle, not a lifestyle."

    Some Pics.
    Some Tunes
    Trip'n with Tom
    05 R1200GS Yup!...
    02 GL1800A Hers!
    05 DR650SE When the going gets tough...

    Please Press '1' for English.
    Press '2' to disconnect until you learn to speak English

  11. #10
    Seasoned Member Bucfan11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    3,544
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Texas Black Bird View Post
    That will work too. You may not get a true battery volts reading but it would only me off by a few 10s to 100s of mV, depending on what else is on the circuit. If you are not using the ACC terminal in the fuse box to drive another load, this would be a good source.
    I have a relay inches away from my mounting spot. Relay powers LED fog lights, relay is switched on by the power port in the glove box. Turn key on and power port energizes which in turn energizes relay. Cell phone sometimes plugged into power port, LED lights are always on.
    Rob

    PROWLER #105



    2008 Pearl White Navi GoldWing
    2008 Kawasaki Nomad- SOLD




  12. #11
    Seasoned Member ssncob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Crossville TN
    Posts
    4,604
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    The difference in voltage you would see being wired from there versus straight from the battery is negligible, and will keep you from having a parasitic power draw when the bike is off. The meter you are using has two power + leads, one to power the meter (make the numbers light up), and one to actually go to the metering circuit to measure the voltage. Both use the common - lead for return path.

    Newer meters use one + lead for both the metering circuit and the display, which is what I am using. But mine is a bit larger than the one it appears you will be putting in the foglight switch hole.

    Personally I would not put it there, it prevents you (or future owner) from using that location in the future for a fog lights system should you decide to install one later. I put mine in the little black panel area over by the right pocket key lock. Installed electric grip control there also.

    Edit: see you posted since I started typing, that you have LED fog lights already. So disregard that portion.
    Double Darksider #847
    IBA #54767 BB1500+
    Patriot Guard
    "I can imagine no more rewarding a career. And any man who may be asked in this century what he did to make his life worthwhile, I think can respond with a good deal of pride and satisfaction: 'I served in the United States Navy.'"
    President John F. Kennedy

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •